Interesting Facts

Founded on October 15, 1885 at Depauw University in Greencastle, Indiana by Anna Allen, Olive Burnett, Bertha Deniston, Amy Dubois, Nellie Gamble, Bessie Grooms, and Estelle Leonard

  • Over 210,000 Initiates
  • 135 Collegiate Chapters
  • Brand:  REAL. STRONG. WOMEN.
  • Open Motto:  “Together let us seek the heights”
  • Nickname: Alpha Chi
  • Jewel: Pearl
  • Symbol: Golden Lyre
  • Badge:  Grecian Lyre, reflecting our musical heritage
  • Flower: Red Carnation
  • Colors: Scarlett and Olive #badf49
  • [Picture of the Coat of Arms]
  • Magazine: The Lyre
  • Philanthropy: Domestic Violence Awareness and Prevention

Our Mission

“Enrich the lives of members through lifetime opportunities for friendship, leadership, learning, and service”

Our Vision

“Ever- increasing numbers of qualified women select Alpha Chi Omega and make it an integral part of their lives. When women chose Alpha Chi Omega the get four key benefits: Friendship, Leadership, Learning and Service.”

The Symphony of Alpha Chi Omega

To see beauty even in the common things of life.
To shed the light of love and friendship round me
To keep my life in tune with the world
That I shall make no discords in the harmony of life.
To strike on the lyre of the universe
Only the notes of happiness, of joy, of peace.
To appreciate every little service rendered.
To see and appreciate all that is noble in another,
Be her badge what it may.
And to let my lyre send for the chords of love, unselfishness, sincerity.
This is to be my symphony.

Written by Celia McClure, Delta chapter, Allegheny College, 1914

Jari Askins
(Psi Chapter): Lt. Gov. of Oklahoma

Melissa Rycroft
(Psi Chapter): Reality show star of The Bachelor and Dancing with the Stars

Melissa d’Arabia
(Alpha Iota Chapter): The Next Food Network Star winner and host of Ten Dollar Dinners

Judith Cochran
(Nu Chapter): Sr. Fulbright Lecturer, educator and author at the University of Missouri

Deidre Downs
(Zeta Lambda Chapter): 2005 Miss America winner

Carol Duvall
(Beta Epsilon Chapter): Host of The Carol Duvall Show

Jenilee Harrison
(Epsilon Chapter): Actress on Dallas and Three’s Company

Vicki Latham Huddleston (Nu Chapter): Ambassador to Mali and to Madagascar, US Department of State, writer for the New York Times

Laura Innes
(Gamma Chapter): Actress on ER

Jane Anne Jayroe
(Gamma Tau Chapter): Miss America 1967, civic leader in Oklahoma

Meredith Monroe
(Upsilon Chapter): Actress on Dawson’s Creek

Condoleeza Rice
(Gamma Delta Chapter): Former U. S. Secretary of State

Gail Sheehy
(Alpha Iota Chapter): Author

Sherron Watkins
(Alpha Phi Chapter): Enron whistleblower

Dawn Wells
(Rho Chapter): Actress on Gilligan’s Island

Whitney Thompson
(Theta Sigma Chapter): Winner of America’s Next Top Model

Becki Newton
(Alpha Epsilon Chapter): Actress, Amanda Tanen on Ugly Betty